Motorcycle Cannonball 2014 #57 Colorado

4/13/2014


finish getting the end clearances set on the cam side cases so I was able to get the cases married up. took a while shimming the trans to engine, I guess do to the welded lugs on the transmission case to achieve the right alignment and gear lash. used a 3/8 plate to bolt the lugs to cases while they were welded on, guess if there’s a next time ill use a heavier plate.
001
002
007
008
010
009
013
014
018
020
023
024
025
027
028
029
036
another experiment that I ll have to wait to see if it will pan out is. the main output gear was sealed with a cork gasket that set in a recessed counter bore and against a machined spacer. I found a non spring backed seal to fit the bore and shaft, machined a shorter spacer between roller cages to allow for the width of the seal and pressed it in. hoping for the best. will see.
030
031
032
035
036
lubed and installed the new disc and plates. along with primary cover.
038
038
042
043
hopefully more to share next Sunday. hope you all have a great week. laugh lots. gary

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “4/13/2014

  1. evening Ron an Dixie, please to excuse me for not getting back in a timely manor. I do appreciate your insight, help and kind words of encouragement.
    I have spent double the time on this engine than I did on the JD and I m still a ways from kicking it over. I just hope im doing right by her. will see.
    I have a few old Dodges. the 66 you saw with the mock up Indian I took to town to show someone. a 71 crew cab project w a 24 valve cummins. and our 93 with the camper. I really dislike rust. we have it here also but not to the extent as folks back east thank goodness.
    I sure appreciate the 19″ wheel offer. that’s very great of you to offer. because of the rust and major out of round hits these wheels have I ve decided to use aluminum rims laced to the hubs I have acquired. going north Thursday to Woodys Wheels to drop off my hubs.
    I sure hope im covering all my bases to make this all come together. its a bit overwhelming at times. and still have a bunch to do.
    looking forward to seeing you folks this Sept.. again thanks for your friendship. Linda an Gary

    Like

  2. Ron Westervelt on said:

    Hi Gary, Is it my imagination, or is putting together an Indian Chief engine a more complex deal than a H-D JD? Again, if precision and careful attention to detail worth anything (and it is), the project out to have a successful outcome. The best—-Ron.

    Like

Leave a Reply

